2021 Education & Human Services Academic Awards


Terri Lynne Lokoff Child Care Foundation Scholarship

This award was established in 1986 by Fred and Kay Lokoff to honor the memory of their daughter, Terri Lynne, who worked at the Children’s Garden Preschool in St. Davids, Pennsylvania, before she died tragically in an automobile accident. The Lokoff Child Care Foundation, which supports many child care causes, gives $1,500 scholarships each year to two graduating students in the Early Childhood Education program who are committed to work in child care and who wish to continue their formal education.

AsiaRay Johnson
Yael Johnson

Ruth Holmes Bacon Award of Excellence

Established in 1989, this award honors the late Ruth Bacon, an instructor in the Early Childhood Education program at Community College of Philadelphia. The award is given annually to a graduate of the program who demonstrates professional promise and a desire for continuing education. A $1,500 scholarship is sent directly to the recipient’s transfer institution.

Yael Johnson

Ruth Holmes Bacon Student Fellowship

This scholarship supports students in the Education - Early Childhood (Birth through 4th Grade) program.

Julia Gaudioso 
Melissa Moreno

Fanzella Buchanon Scholarship for Education

Moriah Lit

Shirley A. Page Future Teacher Scholarship

Shelton Rice-Brown 
Breia Smalley