Student learning

Key Dates

Goldman Sachs 10,000 Small Businesses is an initiative to unlock the economic growth and job-creation potential of 10,000 small businesses across the United States through greater access to business education, financial capital, and business support services. The Community College of Philadelphia has partnered with the Goldman Sachs 10,000 Small Businesses initiative to help small businesses in the Greater Philadelphia region grow and create jobs.

Value to Business Owners

  • A scholarship covering tuition and program materials through the support of the Goldman Sachs Foundation.
  • A practical 100-hour business entrepreneurship training program that examines business fundamentals through the lens of your actual business experiences.
  • Comprehensive one-on-one business advisory services to help you develop and implement a business growth plan.
  • Development of a personalized growth plan tailored to your business.
  • Access to technical assistance and coaching.

Time Commitment

My obligation includes out-of-class activities each week. These assignments are an integral part of the program, and are designed to help me improve my business while enabling me to fully develop myr business growth plans. The additional time commitment outside of class will include:

  • Business support services such as technical assistance;
  • Customized, one-on-one business advice; and
  • Time spent completing assignments in advance of each class.

During and after the program you are expected to fill in your diagnostics in our Goldman Sachs 10.000 Small Business Monitoring and Evaluation system (M&E). This will be at the start of the program, graduation, and then 6, 18 and 30 months after you finished the program.

    Cohort: Setting Scholar Expectations

    Modules - Full Day (Required)

    Clinics (Required)

    Weekend
    7:45am-Breakfast 8:00am-cohort meeting 8:30-5:30-module

    - Individual Exercises w/video instructions (self-paced)
    - Paired Partner Exercise
    - Optional faculty office hours

    Pre-work for the next week and Growth Plan writing

     

    My growth group starts on Thursday, September 16, 2021. I will be assigned a regular Thursday weekly time slot (8:30-9:30am, 10-11am or 11:30am – 12:30pm) to meet with my growth group.

    I will have weekly zoom meetings with my Business Advisor.

    Optional faculty office hours give me time to receive extra support and ask questions about content, brainsharks, exercises, & LivePlan.

    Cohort 26, Spring 2022 Schedule 

    ClassTime Commitment

    Classes will begin on Thursday, January 20, 2022 with Orientation to provide me with support and guidance on how to successfully engage and get the most out of my 10KSB experience. I will have classes every week. I am required to be present at all session). If I have scheduling emergencies, I will immediately email Franne McNeal, Education Services Director, FMcNeal@ccp.edu.

    Module / Clinic / Event Date Part 2 – Closing Webinar
    Orientation: You & Your Business

    Thursday, January 20, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    Mod 1: You & Your Business

    Mon, January 21, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    Mod 2: Growth & Opportunities

    Mon, January 28, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    Financial Statements Workshop

    Mon, February 4, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    Mod 3: Money & Metrics

    Friday, February 11, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    You Are the Lender Clinic

    Wednesday, February 16, 2022

    7:45am-Noon

    Growth Lab I + GG Mtg

    Wednesday, February 16, 2022

    1-4pm (optional)

    Negotiations I Clinic

    Thursday, February 17, 2022

    Noon-5pm

    Mod 4: You Are the Leader

    Friday, February 25, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    Mod 5: It’s the People

    Friday, March 4, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    Mod 6:Marketing & Selling 

    Friday, March 11, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm
    Negotiations II Clinic

    Wednesday, March 16, 2022

    7:45am-1pm
    Growth Lab II + GG Mtg

    Thursday, March 17, 2022

    7:45am-Noon (optional)

    HR & Legal Clinic

    Thursday, March 17, 2022

    1-4pm

    Mod 7: Strategic Growth Through Operations

    Friday, March 25, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    Mod 8: Being Bankable

    Friday, April 1, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm
    Mod 9.1: Action for Growth

    Wednesday, April 13, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm
    Mod 9.2: Putting It All Together/Graduation

    Thursday, April 14, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

     

    LivePlan check-ins:  10am, Mon, 1/31/21 – Through Mod 2 10am, Mon, 2/21/21 – Through Mod 3 + fin forecast (year 1, existing biz) 10am, Mon, 3/14/21 – Through Mod 6 + 5 year fin forecast (existing biz + growth opp) 10am, Mon, 3/28/21 – Through Mod 7 + 5 year fin forecast (existing biz + growth opp) 10am, Mon, 4/11/21 – entire plan + exec summary + 5 year fin forecast (existing biz + growth opp)
     Post growth opportunity  10am, Mon, 2/7/21 - initial 10am, Mon, 2/21/21 - final
     
    Graduation requirements include submission by 10am, Monday, April 11, 2022, of the following: a) final growth plan with five year financial forecasts (growth opportunity and existing business), b) graduation M&E (diagnostic and confidence checklist), and c) final 3-slide powerpoint.

    For more information, please visit www.ccp.edu/10ksb or call 215-516-3700.

     

    Cohort 27 - Summer 2022 Schedule

    ClassTime Commitment 

    Classes will begin on Thursday, May 20, 2022 with Orientation to provide me with support and guidance on how to successfully engage and get the most out of my 10KSB experience. I will have classes every week. I am required to be present at all session). If I have scheduling emergencies, I will immediately email Franne McNeal, Education Services Director, FMcNeal@ccp.edu

    Module / Clinic / Event Date Part 2 – Closing Webinar
    Orientation: You & Your Business

    Wednesday, May 11, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    Mod 1: You & Your Business

    Thursday, May 12, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    Mod 2: Growth & Opportunities

    Thursday, May 20, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    Financial Statements Workshop

    Thursday, May 27, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    Mod 3: Money & Metrics

    Thursday, June 3, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    You Are the Lender Clinic

    Tuesday, June 7, 2022

    7:45am-Noon

    Growth Lab I + GG Mtg

    Tuesday, June 7, 2022

    1-4pm (optional)

    Negotiations I Clinic

    Wednesday, June 8, 2022

    Noon-5pm

    Mod 4: You Are the Leader

    Thursday, June 17, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    Mod 5: It’s the People

    Thursday, June 24, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    Mod 6:Marketing & Selling 

    Thursday, July 1, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm
    Negotiations II Clinic

    Tuesday, July 12, 2022

    7:45am-1pm
    Growth Lab II + GG Mtg

    Tuesday, July 12, 2022

    7:45am-Noon (optional)

    HR & Legal Clinic

    Wednesday, July 13, 2022

    1-4pm

    Mod 7: Strategic Growth Through Operations

    Thursday, July 21, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

    Mod 8: Being Bankable

    Thursday, July 28, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm
    Mod 9.1: Action for Growth

    Wednesday, August 10, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm
    Mod 9.2: Putting It All Together/Graduation

    Thursday, August 11, 2022

    7:45am – 5:30pm

     

    For more information, please visit www.ccp.edu/10ksb or call 215-516-3700.
     
    LivePlan check-ins:  10am, Mon, 5/23/21 – Through Mod 2 10am, Mon, 6/13/21 – Through Mod 3 + fin forecast (year 1, existing biz) 10am, Thurs, 7/5/21 – Through Mod 6 + 5 year fin forecast (existing biz + growth opp) 10am, Mon, 7/25/21 – Through Mod 7 + 5 year fin forecast (existing biz + growth opp) 10am, Mon, 8/8/21 – entire plan + exec summary + 5 year fin forecast (existing biz + growth opp)
     Post growth opportunity  10am, Tues, 5/31/21 - initial 10am, Mon, 6/6/21 - final
     
    Graduation requirements include submission by 10am, Monday, August 8, 2022, of the following: a) final growth plan with five year financial forecasts (growth opportunity and existing business), b) graduation M&E (diagnostic and confidence checklist), and c) final 3-slide powerpoint.